Sunday, May 9

Reps mandates INEC to restore 8 constituencies in Oyo State

The House of Representatives has mandated the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to obey the Court injunction on the restoration of 8 State Constituencies across Oyo State, namely; Ibadan North III, Ibadan South-West III, Ibarapa Central, Irepo, Itesiwaju, Oyo East, Saki East and Surulere.

The resolution was passed sequel to the adoption of a motion jointly sponsored by the Chairman, House Committee on Information, National Orientation, Ethics and Values, Mr Olusegun Odebunmi during plenary.

In his lead debate, Mr. Odebunmi stressed the need to uphold the decision of the Federal High Court of Nigeria, Ibadan Division on the 8th March 2013, where the court ordered INEC to make the restored 8 State Constituencies operational forthwith.

While noting that there is a substantive judgement to restore the constituencies, the Lawmaker expressed displeasure over the Independent National Electoral Commission’s recalcitrant attitude to obey the Court injunction.

To this end, the House approved the restoration of the constituencies

In his ruling, the Deputy Speaker, Alh Idris Wase allayed the fear of members whose constituencies have been affected by the same circumstance, disclosing that there is a motion in the works to give the issue a national scope to arrive at a permanent solution.

To this end, the House mandated the House Committee on Electoral Matters to ensure compliance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *